At 2224 Sawtelle Boulevard, robots stir-fry mapo tofu and orange chicken at Tigawok. Entrees cost about $4, and the machines clean themselves in under 30 seconds between dishes. About two blocks south, at 2000 Sawtelle, an eight-seat bar called Yakun serves a yakitori omakase that was listed at $280 per person when The Infatuation wrote it up in December 2025.
Both sit on the same street. Most of the restaurants that opened on Sawtelle over the past year look more like the second one. They expect you to plan. Some do it with a Tock reservation, some with a booking window three weeks out, and some with a Yelp waitlist that kicks in once the opening-day lines show up. Sawtelle has long been the street where you could decide on dinner at 7 p.m. and still eat at 7:30. Its newest addresses mostly don't work that way.
Eater LA's Sawtelle Japantown map was updated on September 22, 2026, and it reflects the turnover. It says many restaurants from the previous edition have closed, DongTing Noodle among them, and it adds Yakun, Ten no Meshi, the Mulberry, and Mian.
Five Addresses, About a Year
Here's the short version, block by block from south to north. "How you get in" is based on what each restaurant or its press coverage has published.
| Address | Now | Previously | Opened | How you get in |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1653 Sawtelle Blvd | Emporium Thai Market | Not reported | Set to debut Jan. 21, 2026 | Not specified in coverage |
| 1800 Sawtelle Blvd | The Mulberry | Plan Check | Nov. 12, 2025 | Reservations released three weeks out, some walk-in tables |
| 1947 Sawtelle Blvd | Mian | DongTing Noodle | Open by late May 2026 | Casual, QR-code ordering |
| 2000 Sawtelle Blvd | Yakun | Mizu 212 | Late 2025 | Two seatings, booked through Tock |
| 2006 Sawtelle Blvd | Ten no Meshi | Not reported | Jan. 29, 2026 | Reservations and walk-ins, Yelp waitlist |
Three of the five have published a reservation system of some kind. Mian is the only one built for walking in, and it took over a space that was already a walk-in noodle shop. Emporium Thai Market's coverage doesn't say how it seats people, so call ahead or check its site before you assume either way.
The Eight Seats at 2000 Sawtelle
Yakun is the extreme case, and it shows the logic behind the others. The Infatuation described it as a dark, eight-seat bar run by a chef from Kyoto, in the former Mizu 212 space. The $280 menu it reported comes with five appetizers, 15 skewers, an entree, and dessert, plus sashimi, tempura, and a gohan course of rice cooked in chicken stock. That price dates from December 2025, so check it before you book.
Yakun's own site lists two dine-in seatings, Tuesday through Sunday. The first runs 5:15 to 7:45 p.m. and the second 8 to 11 p.m. Reservations go through Tock. Eight seats and two seatings come to 16 covers a night, and Yakun's site points every one of them to the Tock reservation page.
Next Door, the Line Comes With a System
Ten no Meshi opened at 2006 Sawtelle on January 29, 2026. It's a Kyoto-born cutlet restaurant, and this was its first Southern California location. The menu is built around tonkatsu and gyu-katsu, including wagyu you finish yourself on a hot stone. Brentwood News reported that it takes both reservations and walk-ins, and that it planned to move walk-ins onto a Yelp waitlist after opening day.
Two months later, the Los Angeles Times was still describing a Kyoto katsu shop "drawing long lines with fried cutlets and chanting." That's the middle option on the new Sawtelle. Walk-ins are still welcome, but the restaurant manages the line digitally, so you can hold your place before you leave home. If you just show up hungry, you're likely to wait the longest.
So within one short stretch, two Kyoto-linked restaurants sit side by side at 2000 and 2006 Sawtelle, and neither is a place you decide on when you're already at the door.
The Mulberry Opens Its Book Three Weeks Out
Head back south to 1800 Sawtelle, the former Plan Check space. The Mulberry opened there on November 12, 2025. Eater describes it as a Korean-American bistro, with chef Curtis Park serving updated Korean comfort food alongside cocktails. The menu includes Korean aguachile, Korean fried chicken wings, tofu stew with wagyu, braised black cod, and grilled pork ribs.
The Infatuation's Sawtelle guide reports that reservations are released three weeks ahead and that some tables are held for walk-ins each night. In practice, a Friday dinner here gets settled on a Friday nearly a month earlier. If you didn't plan that far ahead, the walk-in tables are your backup, and that's exactly what the restaurant held them for.
Mian Kept the Corner Casual
The restaurant that replaced DongTing Noodle at 1947 Sawtelle is the exception that proves the pattern. Mian comes from the Chengdu Taste group as part of its Southern California expansion. It's a casual Sichuan noodle shop with QR-code ordering, serving zajiang noodles, cold noodles, chile wontons, and beef pancakes. The Infatuation called it the chain's first Westside location and confirmed it was open by May 27, 2026.
The one new opening that kept walk-in dining took over a space that was already a noodle shop. The street's new walk-in option is an established Sichuan brand's westward expansion. It isn't a new independent spot. Neither Eater nor The Infatuation reported why DongTing closed or exactly when.
Emporium Thai Market, the One Without a Stated System
Emporium Thai Market opened at 1653 Sawtelle, toward the south end of the corridor. WhatNow reported in January that the Sungkamee family's modern Southern Thai restaurant was set to debut January 21, 2026. Its own site describes Southern Thai cooking, cocktails, a dining room, and a street-side patio. The coverage doesn't say how it handles reservations, which is why the table above leaves that cell blank.
Your Sawtelle Order of Operations
Taken together, the five openings sort into a simple sequence for planning a night on the street:
- Three weeks out: book the Mulberry if you want a guaranteed table, and check Yakun's Tock page for either seating.
- Day of: get on Ten no Meshi's Yelp waitlist before you leave the house rather than after you arrive.
- No plan at all: Mian's QR codes at 1947 and Tigawok's $4 robot-cooked entrees at 2224 don't need a reservation.
This Saturday, October 10, is a good test of that sequence. Westwood Village's Oktoberfest runs from 1 to 6 p.m. at Broxton Plaza, with beer, live music, vendors, games, and German-inspired food. That evening, the Hammer Museum's free Fall Exhibitions Celebration runs from 8 to 10:30 p.m., with late gallery hours, DJ Shay Elys, food and drink for purchase, and four new exhibitions. Yakun's 5:15 seating ends at 7:45, which leaves a short drive up to Westwood before the Hammer event starts. Getting that seat this close to Saturday may not work, which is the reservation era of Sawtelle in a nutshell.
If Pico is closer to home, Marée opened on September 9 at 9575 W. Pico Blvd. It's a bistro and wine bar that Eater's openings tracker added this fall.
Whether it's a table at the Mulberry or an offer on a house, the people who get what they want usually learned the system early. If you're weighing a move on the Westside or in Orange County and want a candid read on timing, Chad Pape can walk you through how that market actually works. Let's Connect.